Iowa High School State Baseball TournementIowa High School State Baseball Tournement

Which team will win the 1A state title?

West Sioux
Don Bosco
St. Mary's

Which team will win the 2A state title?

Clear Lake

Which team will win the 3A state title?


Which team will win the 4A state title?

IC West

  • Vida Blue

The Iowa high school state baseball tournament will be held at Principal Park through the 2020 season. Tentative dates:
2017 — July 21-29
2018 — July 20-28
2019 — July 26-August 3
2020 — July 24-August 1

Three runs in the sixth helped Waukee to a 3-2 win over Johnston Wednesday in a Class 4A quarterfinal game at Principal Park.

The second-seeded Iowa City West Trojans topped the seventh-seeded Cedar Rapids Jefferson J-Hawks 4-3 in a seventh-inning thriller Wednesday night in a Class 4A quarterfinal to advance to the semifinals. Jefferson scored twice in the top of the seventh to tie the game at 3-3. West loaded the bases and scored the winning run with one out in the bottom of the seventh.

It was a pitcher’s duel in Class 4A action as the Cedar Rapids Prairie Hawks toppled the Davenport West Falcons, 1-0 to advance to the semifinals. Both teams combined for just seven hits in the entire game.

The third-seeded Des Moines Roosevelt Roughriders cruise into the semifinals after topping the sixth-seeded Urbandale J-Hawks 11-3 Wednesday night in a 4A quarterfinals thanks to a four-run fourth inning. John Swanda paced the Roughriders offense going 4-for-4 with three doubles, a triple and six RBI.

Mississippi Valley Conference teams Cedar Rapids Prairie and Iowa City West are the top two teams in the Class 4A state tournament, according to the rankings and the seedings. Four Central Iowa Metro League teams will look to extend that conference's domination at state. Read more for news and notes about the Class 4A teams.

Wednesday's quarterfinals

Waukee 3, Johnston 2
Cedar Rapids Prairie 1, Davenport West 0
Iowa City West 4, Cedar Rapids Jefferson 3
Des Moines Roosevelt 11, Urbandale 3
Friday's semifinals
5 p.m. — Waukee (31-11) vs. Cedar Rapids Prairie (36-6)
7:30 p.m. — Iowa City West (34-6) vs. Des Moines Roosevelt (33-10)
Saturday's championship
7:30 p.m. — Semifinal winners meet
RANKED TEAMS: #1 Prairie; #2 West; #6 Jefferson; #7 Johnston; #9 Urbandale; #10 Waukee
TOP SEEDS: 1. Prairie; 2. West; 3. Roosevelt; 4. Waukee

Class 4A state tournament brackets

Class 4A leaders after first round

Overall stat leaders after first round

Only three ranked teams qualified for the Class 3A state tournament — #2 Harlan, #5 Pella and #7 Carlisle — and all advanced to the semifinals. They are joined by Solon, which had a losing record entering district tournament play. Read more for news and notes about the Class 3A teams.

Tuesday's quarterfinals

Harlan 8, Bishop Heelan Catholic 6
Solon 12, Wahlert Catholic 2 (six innings)
Carlisle 8, Central DeWitt 7
Pella 6, Humboldt 0
Friday's semifinals
11 a.m. — Carlisle (32-6) vs. Pella (31-8)
1:30 p.m. — Harlan (28-5) vs. Solon (22-20)
Saturday's championship
5 p.m. — Semifinal winners meet
RANKED TEAMS: #2 Harlan; #5 Pella; #7 Carlisle
TOP SEEDS: 1. Wahlert; 2. Pella; 3. Carlisle; 4. Harlan

Class 3A state tournament brackets

Class 3A leaders after first round

Overall stat leaders after first round

Top-seeded Clear Lake won the Class 3A state in 2013, and the 2A title last year. The Lions are back and headed to the semifinals. They are joined by Hinton, Pleasantville and Kuemper Catholic. Read more for news and notes about the Class 2A teams.

Monday’s quarterfinals

Clear Lake 10, Denver 5
Hinton 9, Van Buren 1
Pleasantville 3, Beckman Catholic 1
Kuemper Catholic 3, Collins-Maxwell/Baxter 2 (eight innings)
Thursday's semifinals
5 p.m. — Clear Lake (29-7) vs. Hinton (24-5)
7:30 p.m. — Pleasantville (29-9) vs. Kuemper Catholic (25-11)
Saturday's championship
1:30 p.m. — Semifinal winners meet
RANKED TEAMS: #2 Clear Lake; #8 Hinton
TOP SEEDS: 1. Clear Lake; 2. Beckman; 3. Kuemper; 4. Van Buren

Class 2A state tournament brackets

Class 2A leaders after first round

Overall stat leaders after first round

The top four seeds all won quarterfinal-round games, setting up Thursday's semifinals. Top-ranked Newman Catholic is the top seed in the Class 1A state tournament. The Knights are a familiar face at state — Newman is making its ninth straight trip and 20th overall. Don Bosco is back for the seventh time. West Sioux and Remsen St. Mary's also advanced to the semifinals. Read more for news and notes about the Class 1A teams.

Friday’s quarterfinals

Remsen St. Mary’s 10, Highland 5
Newman Catholic 12, Nodaway Valley 2 (six innings)
Saturday’s quarterfinals
West Sioux 3, Edgewood-Colesburg 2
Don Bosco 11, Tri-Center 1 (six innings)
Thursday's semifinals
11 a.m. — Newman Catholic (33-5) vs. Remsen-St. Mary's (31-5)
1:30 p.m. — West Sioux (26-2) vs. Don Bosco (35-4)
Saturday's championship
11 a.m. — Semifinal winners meet
RANKED TEAMS: #1 Newman; #2 Don Bosco; #3 West Sioux
TOP SEEDS: 1. Newman; 2. West Sioux; 3. Don Bosco; 4. St.Mary’s

Class 1A state tournament brackets

Class 1A leaders after first round

Overall stat leaders after first round

Video coverage of all 28 games of the 2016 Iowa high school state baseball tournament is available live on the internet. The web telecasts are complete with play-by-play-audio, full video coverage and instant replays of all the action. Click here for the webcasts. And will provide complete news, stats, photo and video coverage of the tournament — and live play-by-play scoring — all week long as well.

Fans can keep foul balls hit into the stands during state tournament games. The Iowa Association of Independent Colleges and Universities is the official foul ball sponsor of the tournament. Their support of high school baseball makes it possible for fans to keep a great souvenir of the state tournament. There are an average of 750 baseballs used each year during the state tournament. And most of them go home with fans. After the tournament, visit one of Iowa’s private colleges during Iowa Private College Week August 1-5.

The state baseball tournament moved to Des Moines in 2005, and since then, lots of talented baseball players have showcased their skills at Principal Park. The list includes players who went on to play in college, in the minor leagues and in the major leagues. And players who went on to work for the host Iowa Cubs. Read more for a look at those who played in the state tournament at Principal Park — and work (or have worked) for the Iowa Cubs.

As an industry leader in the state, Iowa Cubs Sports Turf Management will take your fields to the next level. Our accomplished professionals have experience with top-level facilities throughout the region. The specialized nature of our company sets us apart from any other. Our high-quality services result in increased playability and enhance the aesthetic appearance of your facility. Visit our website for more details.

At The Yard

Tanner Lohaus and the Iowa City West Trojans defeated Cedar Rapids Jefferson in a Class 4A game Wednesday at Principal Park. Dylan Heuer photo

More photos

Watch all the games live

Yesterday's Games Jul 27, 16

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E
Johnston 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 6 1
Waukee 0 0 0 0 0 3 x 3 6 2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E
Dav West 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0
CR Prairie 0 0 0 0 0 1 x 1 4 1

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E
CR Jeff 0 0 0 1 0 0 2 3 4 3
IC West 0 1 0 0 2 0 1 4 9 2

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E
Urbandale 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 4 1
Roosevelt 2 0 2 4 3 0 x 11 8 2

Click here for play-by-play updates of games in progress

© 2016 Greater Des Moines Baseball Co. All Rights Reserved
Great Baseball. Great Fans. Great Fun. | Privacy Policy
Web Applications by Spindustry Systems
Click here for Questions/Comments