Iowa High School State Baseball TournementIowa High School State Baseball Tournement

Which team will win the 1A state title?

Remsen St.Mary's

Which team will win the 2A state title?


Which team will win the 3A state title?


Which team will win the 4A state title?

IC West

  • Vida Blue

The Iowa high school state baseball tournament will be held at Principal Park through the 2020 season. Tentative dates:
2017 — July 21-29
2018 — July 20-28
2019 — July 26-August 3
2020 — July 24-August 1


The state baseball tournament moved to Des Moines in 2005, and since then, lots of talented baseball players have showcased their skills at Principal Park. The list includes players who went on to play in college, in the minor leagues and in the major leagues. And players who went on to work for the host Iowa Cubs.

Eric Hammes -- Keota 2005. Sales and Marketing intern, 2011. Assistant Ticket Manager, Sales executive, 2012-
Jake Samo -- Lenox 2006. Stadium Operations intern, 2010. Assistant Director of Stadium Operations, 2011-13.
Nick Long -- Cedar Rapids Xavier 2006, 2007. Stadium Operations intern, 2012.
Zach Smith -- Indianola 2007. Ticket Operations intern, 2012.
Brock Grubbs -- Bondurant-Farrar 2007. Ticket Operations intern, 2012.
Ethan Westphal -- Lenox 2007, 2008, 2009; Martensdale-St. Marys 2010, 2011. Stadium Operations intern, 2012. [Note: Ethan returned as an assistant coach for MSTM in 2014 and 2015.]
Stephen Englund -- Urbandale 2007. Stadium Operations intern, 2013.
Brock Yossi -- Dallas Center-Grimes 2008. Stadium Operations intern, 2013, 2014.
Andrew Quillin -- Chariton 2009. Stadium Operations intern, 2013. Assistant Director of Stadium Operations, 2013-
Jon Lewerke -- Newman Catholic, 2009; then coached at Newman. Ticket Operations intern, 2014.
Adam Winter -- Fort Dodge 2009. Stadium Operations intern, 2014.
Ben Bergman -- Solon 2009. Ticket Operations intern, 2014.
Seth Nutting -- Southeast Warren 2010. Video Team intern, 2013, 2014.
Nick Lorenzen -- Dowling Catholic 2010. Stadium Operations intern, 2014.
Chris Bengston -- Alta 2009; Alta-Aurelia 2011. Ticket Operations intern, 2014.
Andrew McGuire -- Bishop Garrigan 2012. Video Team intern, 2016.
Sam Vickery -- Dowling Catholic 2010, 2011. Stadium Operations intern, 2016.
Jordan Bahl -- Lisbon 2012. Stadium Operations intern, 2016.
Keaton Schlatter -- Coon Rapids-Bayard, 2011. Ticket Operations intern, 2016.
Ben Flaherty -- Van Meter, 2014. Stadium Operations intern, 2017.

Note: Ross Hingst of Waukee set a record in this category. He is the only person to work for the Iowa Cubs before and after playing in the state tournament. Ross is a 2017 Ticket Operations intern. He played in the 2016 tournament.

View All News Articles

© 2017 Greater Des Moines Baseball Co. All Rights Reserved
Great Baseball. Great Fans. Great Fun. | Privacy Policy
Web Applications by Spindustry Systems
Click here for Questions/Comments